Kaeser Lumber Company

In 1930, at the beginning of the great depression, Fred Kaeser purchased the old Stotlar-Herrin Lumber Company business located at 602 N. Market Street and re-named it Kaeser Lumber Company. He accomplished this with the help of his sons, Walter and Albert, who helped run the business and his daughter, Katherine Barbara Kaeser who served as the bookkeeper for thirty years before returning to college and earning a degree in elementary education. Continue reading

Kaeser Family History

John Kaeser and his wife, Emelia Walther moved from St. Morgan, Illinois, to Williamson County in 1884 and settled on a farm east of Marion at the old Moeller Crossroad (Rt. 13 and 166). They brought with them their two sons Louis, ten years old, and Fred, eight years of age, along with daughter Emelia who was then six years of age. John Kaeser’s parents came from Switzerland in a sailboat during the late 1700’s or early 1800’s. Continue reading

1887, Goodspeed History of Williamson County

The Goodspeed version of the book covering the history of Williamson County was officially called, “The History of Gallatin, Saline, Hamilton, Franklin and Williamson Counties” and subtitled “From the Earliest Time to the Present; Together with Sundry and Interesting Biographical Sketches, Notes, Reminiscences, Etc., Etc.” and was published in 1887 by the Goodspeed Publishing. Continue reading

1905 Historical Souvenir of Williamson County

Historical SouvenirIf you are even the slightest bit interested in the early history of the county and the towns and villages contained within, this volume is an absolute gem that has intrigued county citizens for over a hundred years. Compiled in 1904 and published in 1905 by J.F. Wilcox, the “souvenir book man”, from the LeCrone Press in Effingham, Illinois, the book was a collaboration of Wilcox and numerous local citizens who dug deep and gathered an amazing and impressive volume. Continue reading

1989 Williamson County Sesquicentennial History

Sesquicentennial History 1989Williamson County Illinois Sesquicentennial History

This large volume was produced in conjunction with the county’s 150th Sesquicentennial celebration in 1989. The book was created and designed by Stan J. Hale, associate professor of English at John A. Logan College and was copyrighted in 1993. It stands as a similar, modern counterpart to an earlier treatise done on the county in the 1905 Souvenir History of Williamson County which has proved invaluable. Continue reading